Skip to content

A very warm welcome to the Eastern Branch page of the AGTO Web site.

We aim to keep the features, events and news from the Branch as up to date as possible so enhancing what is happening in our area.

With 53 members Eastern Branch stretches from the south through Essex into Suffolk and Norfolk then inland to Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire, finishing just north of the Thames. over recent years we have been able to maintain contact by email, Zoom and Facebook.

Our aim at Eastern Branch is to share information designed for you and your group. This should bring together like minded groups to share their plans and events.

Looking forward we are planning more events and trips.

Watch this space for
News and views

Don’t forget to join the AGTO facebook page here.

Not a member? Join here today!

The Eastern Branch welcomes enquiries from new group and experienced group organisers to our existing family of 53 members in the Branch which covers Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Milton Keynes, Norfolk, Suffolk and the London post code areas of London E, N and NW.

The Eastern Branch are always looking at new ways to get their members to network, sharing ideas for future group travel.

Important Notice

All Members, please advise the Membership Secretary if your email contact details have changed since you first joined the AGTO – this is most important for continued contact and Membership updates.

Catherine Skeggs – Chairman and Director

Jackie Ames – Secretary

Ian Thirkettle – Treasurer

Carlie Newman – Committee Member

Gill Denny – Committee Member

Robert Coleman – Committee Member

Tony Wright – Official Branch Photographer/Branch Web Contact

For up to the minute news and views, visit us on Facebook at:



Networking Event

Thursday 18th July 2024

Apsley House and Networking Lunch

Register for your place on the trip and any guests you are bringing.


Festive Getaway Cruise

7 night “Festive Getaway” cruise

12th to 19th December 2024.

I know you have very busy schedules in December and may not be able to join us. However, if you feel you would like to get away for a short break please consider joining us on a Festive Cruise. You may even consider bringing a small group with you!

We will be travelling on Ambition, part of the Ambassador cruise line. Starting and ending in Tilbury, our journey will take us to ports in Netherlands, Belgium and France.

Ports Visited On The Festive Cruise:
12/12/24 London Tilbury (United Kingdom)
13/12/24 Amsterdam (Netherlands)
14/12/24 Antwerp, cruise River Scheldt (Belgium)
15/12/24 at sea (At Sea)
16/12/24 Rouen, cruise River Seine (France)
17/12/24 Rouen, cruise River Seine (France)
18/12/24 Honfleur (France)
19/12/24 London Tilbury (United Kingdom)

Who am I booking with?
We are using an award winning travel agent and AGTO Member to co-ordinate our bookings on this group cruise, Martin Hay at Go Cruise And Travel. Go Cruise and Travel are a National Award-Winning Independent Ocean, River, Expedition & Group Cruise Specialist. Martin will act as our point of contact. He has years of experience with cruises and is a great person to answer any questions you may have.

Our travel advisor will be able to give accurate prices when you book. Allow around £150 per person per night for cabin, full board, drinks and gratuities.


News Archive

Networking Event, 19th March 2024

All Hallows by the Tower Tour and Networking Lunch

We had another networking event organised by Robert Coleman, an Eastern Branch GTO and owner of the London Cultureseekers Group.

We had lunch at Byward Kitchen & Bar. Afterwards Robert took us on a tour around the church and into the crypt.

Byward kitchen and bar is a venue that offers homemade, traditional, British food in a relaxing setting. Situated next to All Hallows by the Tower church and a stones throw from the Tower of London, the restaurant and bar offers a surprising oasis on the edge of one of the busiest cities in the world.

All Hallows by the Tower, with its rich history dating back to 675 AD, is not only the oldest church in the City of London but also a testament to the city’s enduring faith and resilience. Founded by the Abbey of Barking, the church has witnessed many significant events, including surviving the Great Fire of London and the Blitz during World War II.

Today, it stands as a beacon of hope and history, offering services and a peaceful space for reflection to all who visit.

More photos from our visit and the walk down from Aldgate can be seen at All Hallows by the Tower, March 2024 | Flickr


Branch AGM February 2024

AGTO Eastern Branch was held on 22nd February 2024 at Americana, Haymarket.

Following the meeting, we enjoyed a meal in the main restaurant,  exchanging ideas for future trips for our groups, next year’s AGM and other event plans. Catherine  mentioned that the Board are looking at new formats for a showcase weekend, and various views and ideas were discussed




Temple of Mithras and St Stephen Church, Walbrook

1st November 2023 was our first networking event hosted by Robert Coleman in the Cannon Street area.

More photos from our visit can be seen at London Mithraeum and St Stephen Walbrook November 2023 | Flickr

Visit to Kensington Palace to see the Crown to Couture Exhibition

More photos from our visit can be seen at Kensington Palace – Crown to Couture, June 2023 | Flickr


The Eastern Branch AGM took place at The Royal Forest (Brewers Fayre) 4 Rangers Road Chingford London E4 7QH on Friday 24th February 2023

London Transport Museum

Several members of Eastern Branch attended the Southern Branch AGM at the London Transport Museum. We enjoyed a number of interesting talks plus a look around the galleries. A reminder that you are welcomed to attend the events organised by other Branches. It is a great way to meet other Group Organisers and visit possible locations for your own Group.

Photos from our visit can be viewed at: London Transport Museum October 2022 | Flickr

Eastern Branch Meeting at Audley End House

In July we were delighted to hold our first face to face event for a very long time. This was held in the grounds of Audley End House.






After our Branch Meeting, members visited the House or just explored the extensive grounds and other buildings.

Photographs of the day can be viewed at Audley End House and Gardens, July 2021 | Flickr

Heythrop Park

Some of us have met up at the Dunwood Travel event in the Cotswolds. This was based at Heythrop Park, which has been rebranded as a Warner Leisure Hotel.

Photographs of Heythrop Park taken during the event can be seen at:

Heythrop Park, June 2021 | Flickr


Our next encounter was a fascinating Fam Trip to Coventry, a City of Culture. This was organised by Harry Shaw and the City of Culture team.

From our Coombe Abbey base, we made several forays into Coventry and were given privileged access to the fantastic work being done to restore attractions and improve the city’s appeal to Groups.

Photographs of the various attractions we visited can be accessed from Collection: Coventry City of Culture, June 2021 (

A further photographic resource of venues is available at:

Collection: AGTO and Group Travel Events ( 

Our Meetings & Fam Visits

Back To Top